Visit our COVID-19 Information pages for details regarding the coronavirus as it relates to the Chickasaw Nation.
News > Press Releases > Press Release

Press Release

Release Date: June 08, 2022
by Chickasaw Nation Media Relations Office

Chickasaw Nation Election Secretary Rita Loder announced the close of filing period at 4:30 p.m., Wednesday, June 8, 2022, for the 2022 general election.

Pontotoc District Legislator, Seat 5 incumbent Lisa J. Billy, Lindsay, received no challengers and will retain her position.

Two candidates filed for the open legislative seat resulting from the retirement of Pickens District Legislator, Seat 3 incumbent Linda Briggs.

Candidates filing for the seat are Charles Marris, Marietta, and Bradley Steven Woods, Ardmore.

Panola District Legislator, Seat 1 incumbent Beth Alexander, Colbert, will face challenger Baron Burgess, Hendrix.

Tishomingo District Legislator, Seat 2 incumbent Derrick Priddy, Sulphur, will face challengers Robin Woods, Tishomingo, and Lisa Hudson, Davis.

Supreme Court Justice, Seat 1 incumbent Mark H. Colbert, received no challengers and will retain his position.

Registered Chickasaw voters will vote by mail ballot, with ballots being mailed to registered voters July 7, 2022.

Ballots must be returned to the Chickasaw Nation Election Commission no later than 10:30 a.m. July 26, 2022. No hand-delivered ballots will be accepted.

The Chickasaw Nation Election Commission shall conduct and supervise the ballot counting beginning at 11 a.m. July 26, 2022, at the Chickasaw Community Center in Ada. Results of the elections shall be announced the same day.

For more information, please contact Ms. Loder at (580) 310-6475.