Press Release

Release Date: September 20, 2023
by Chickasaw Nation Media Relations Office

ADA, Okla. – Inauguration ceremonies for Chickasaw Nation Governor Bill Anoatubby, Lt. Governor Chris Anoatubby, and five elected officials will be 11 a.m., Monday, Oct. 2, in the Ataloa Theatre on the East Central University campus, Chickasaw Nation Election Secretary Rita Loder announced.

Three incumbent legislators, one newly elected legislator and an incumbent Chickasaw Supreme Court Justice will also take the oath of office.

Chickasaws and friends are invited to attend the ceremony.

Governor Anoatubby, who has served the Chickasaw people for 36 years as governor, is beginning his 10th consecutive term. He has worked for the Chickasaw Nation for 48 years, accepting his first position with the tribe in 1975.

Lt. Governor Chris Anoatubby, who has more than two decades of experience with the Chickasaw Nation, is beginning his second term.

Governor Anoatubby and Lt. Governor Chris Anoatubby were officially elected by a one-vote margin when no challengers had filed at the close of the election filing period Wednesday, June 7.

Three incumbent legislators, Pontotoc District Seat 3 legislator J. Lisa Impson, Ada; Pontotoc District Seat 4 legislator Dr. Karen Goodnight, Goldsby; and Pickens District Seat 2 legislator Connie Barker, Marietta, were reelected and will be sworn in during the ceremony.

Newly elected Tishomingo District Seat 3 legislator Dusk Monetathchi, of Sulphur, will also take the oath of office during the event.

Chickasaw Nation Supreme Court Justice Seat 3 Cheri Bellefeuille-Gordon, Sulphur, will also take the oath of office during the ceremony.

A reception and receiving line are planned for all those in attendance following the ceremony at the Chickasaw Business and Conference Center, located across the street from Ataloa Theatre.

For more information, contact Ms. Loder at (580) 310-6475 or (888) 661-0137.