Due to extreme fire danger, the Chickasaw Nation Emergency Management (CNEM) issues this emergency declaration prohibiting burning for portions of the Chickasaw Nation located within:

  • Carter County
  • Coal County
  • Garvin County
  • McClain County

This emergency declaration remains in effect until further notice.

Under Chickasaw Nation Code, Section 17-301.5, it is unlawful for any person subject to the Chickasaw Nation’s jurisdiction to set fire to any forest, grass, range, crop or other wildlands, or to build a campfire or bonfire, or to burn trash or other material that may cause a forest, grass, range, crop or other wildlands fire while an emergency declaration prohibiting burning is in effect. Any person convicted of violating this burn ban shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be subject to a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000) or imprisonment not exceeding one (1) year, or both such fine and imprisonment.

First American ceremonial fires conducted in sweat lodges or over nonflammable surfaces of at least 10 feet by 10 feet are exempt from this burn ban. CNEM may grant exemptions based on appropriate precautionary measures; however, any exemptions must first receive written approval from CNEM. No exemptions will be granted for fireworks, campfires, normal burning of brush piles, accumulation of leaves in yards or household trash.

Enforcement of this burn ban may be carried out by officers of the Chickasaw Nation Lighthorse Police and/or any law enforcement officer with a valid cross-commission issued by the Chickasaw Nation Lighthorse Police.