Visit our COVID-19 Information pages for details regarding the coronavirus as it relates to the Chickasaw Nation.
Our Nation > Government > Lighthorse Police > Divisions and Special Teams

Divisions and Special Teams

Five divisions and two specialized teams were created to better serve citizens of the Chickasaw Nation and provide needed support to surrounding law enforcement communities. Divisions include patrol, K-9, criminal investigations, communications and professional standards. Special Weapons and Tactics (SWAT) and the dive team make up the special teams.


The patrol division is the largest and most visible division of the Chickasaw Lighthorse Police Department. These officers perform community policing, preventative patrol, law enforcement operations, immediate citizen assistance and emergency response 24 hours a day to the Chickasaw Nation.

Three precincts serve citizens throughout the Chickasaw Nation.

Criminal Investigations

The criminal investigations division works to solve crimes and deter criminal activity in the 13 counties within the Chickasaw Nation. This team collects and studies information and evidence from crime scenes and other circumstances that require in-depth, specialized investigations.

The criminal investigation team is led by a captain and consists of four criminal investigators, one child support investigator and an evidence and crime scene technician.


The K-9 team is a subdivision of the patrol division. It consists of highly trained officers and canines who conduct community policing events and provide critical assistance to both the patrol and criminal investigations divisions.


The communications division is the first line of support for citizens. This team receives and dispatches police calls for service, and creates and inputs electronic records for all calls.

Professional Standards Division

The professional standards division is responsible for overseeing the policies and procedures of the LPD, as well as investigating allegations of police misconduct. Additional duties include overseeing law enforcement training to ensure the most current law enforcement methods and professionalism.


The Special Weapons and Tactics (SWAT) Team is certified by the National Tactical Officers Association and consists of 18 highly motivated officers who understand that no one person completes this team. Established in 2007, this team provides a ready response to tactical situations such as hostage situations, suicide interventions and other high risk incidents. The LPD SWAT team also offers dignitary protection.

Dive Team

The Chickasaw Lighthorse Police Department Dive Team consists of five officers.

Their primary purpose is to provide assistance in recovery of victims, vehicles and/or evidence within the boundaries of the Chickasaw Nation. The dive team assists in water rescues and provides assistance to neighboring law enforcement agencies when requested.